Scholarship and Award Winners

This section is dedicated to showcasing the worthy individuals who have received scholarships and awards from Lambda Beta, as well as Board Members and staff who have received awards.

Scholarship Winners

2022 H. Frederick Helmholz, MD Scholarship Winner

Clair Nichols

2022 CoARC Stephen P. Mikles, EdD, RRT, FAARC Media Award Winners

Lisa Moore

2022 NBRC/Hill Leadership Award Winner

Kamy Walck

National Honorary Members

2022 National Honorary Member

Kathy Jones-Boggs Rye, EdD, RRT, RRT-NPS, RRT-ACCS, FAARC

Kathy is a registered respiratory therapist, adult critical care specialist and neonatal pediatric specialist. She is well-regarded for her knowledge and skill in the area of Clinical Preceptor Training (CPT), developing one of the earliest and most effective programs at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock. She has become a highly-sought speaker and consultant in this subject, providing guidance to many programs and educators across the country as they seek to improve their own CPT programs and meet accreditation standards.

Kathy received her Bachelor of Science Degree in Cardiopulmonary Sciences from Louisiana State University in 1986. She continued her education at the University of Arkansas with a Master’s Degree in Education in 1996 and a Doctoral Degree in Higher Education in 2001.

Previous National Honorary Members

1987 Frederick Helmholz, MD 1988 James F. Whitacre, MS, RRT

1989 Hugh S. Mathewson, MD

1990 Donald F. Egan, MD

1991 Steven K. Bryant, PhD, RRT (Hon)

1992 Joyce E. Wanta, RRT

1993 David J. Pierson, MD, FAARC

1994 Robert M. Kacmarek, PhD, RRT

1995 Philip A. von der Heydt, MEd, RRT

1996 George G. Burton, MD, FAARC

1997 Dean R. Hess, PhD, RRT, FAARC

1998 Gary A. Smith, FAARC, RRT (Hon)

1999 Neil MacIntyre, MD

2000 Joseph L. Rau, Jr., PhD, RRT, FAARC

2001 Thomas A. Barnes, EdD, RRT, FAARC

2002 David C. Shelledy, PhD, RRT, RPFT, FAARC

2003 Vijay M. Deshpande, MS, RRT, FAARC

2004 Robert L. Wilkins, PhD, RRT, FAARC

2005 D. Theron Van Hooser, MEd, RRT, FAARC

2006 Charles B. Spearman, MSEd, RRT, FAARC

2007 Lynda Thomas Goodfellow, EdD, RRT, AE-C,

2008 William F. Galvin, MSEd, RRT, CPFT, AE-C,

2009 John R. Goodman, BS, RRT

2010 Susan P. Pilbeam, MS, RRT, FAARC

2011 JM Cairo, PhD, RRT, FAARC

2012 Paul L. Goldiner, MD
Jeffrey J. Ward, MEd, RRT

2013 Stephen P. Mikles, EdS, RRT, FAARC

2014 Jana L. Anderson

2015 Margaret F. Traband, MEd, RRT, FAARC

2016 Brad Leidich, MSEd, RRT, FAARC

2017 Saverio (Sam) Giordano, MBA, RRT, FAARC
Ellen A. Becker, PhD, RRT, RRT-NPS, RPFT,

2018 Charlie G. Brooks, Jr., EdD, RRT, FAARC

2019 Shelley C. Mishoe, PhD, RRT, FAARC,

2020 Douglas Gardenhire, Ed D, R RT, RRT-NPS, FAARC
Glenda Hocker

Past-President Henry Oh is Recognized

U.S. Professor of the Year and Health Sciences and Global Crown Award

Past-President Henry Oh, PhD, RRT, RRT-NPS, MT(AMT), FACSc, FRSB